Start » How-to » Project Management » Work Breakdown Structures

Work Breakdown Structures

This article is about how to apply Work Breakdown Structures to engineering development and construction projects.

Before we start

To clarify the terms: the work breakdown structure is also called the project structure plan (PSP). Before the approach or method for creating a work breakdown structure is presented, here are a few points for general classification.

What is a Work Breakdown Structure?

It is a rule-based hierarchical representation of project goals, phases, product components and tasks or actions. A work breakdown structure is used in projects as an aid to structuring project content.

Why do you need a Work Breakdown Structure?

A work breakdown structure is always required when a project takes on a scale and complexity that is no longer easy to survey. This is the case, for example, when many people are working on a project and there are dependencies between the work results. The WBS is the basic skeleton of the project and enables the project team and suppliers to have an objective view of the work steps required in a project or a project section.

Character of the Work Breakdown Structure

A work breakdown structure can have different levels of detail. This depends on the complexity of the respective sub-step. It may also be necessary to revise a WBS during the course of the project -- i.e. expand, change or reduce it. If, for example, the product structure is worked out in a development process in the first phases of the project, it can only be included in the WBS later and the corresponding work steps assigned.

Is my project to small for a Work Breakdown Structure?

The answer is: unlikely. It doesn’t take long to set up a WBS. In principle, at the beginning it is a kind of checklist for project planning (and thus, among other things, an instrument for risk management, here an article regarding risks in projects), which during its creation in most cases leads to work steps that have not yet been considered being recognized and can be taken into account. If this is not the case and the project is structured very simply, then the WBS may be obsolete.

Method of creation

In general, a work breakdown structure can be freely designed. The following classification criteria, which can also be combined with one another, are common:

  • Project phases
  • Sub-tasks or sub-projects
  • Work content
  • Product structure

When mixing the classification criteria, care must be taken not to include duplicate content in the work breakdown structure or the WBS. This can be avoided if only one criterion is used, but this does not make sense for larger projects. There can be sub-tasks where the usage of a different criteria are useful than in the rest of the project.

In development and construction, a WBS should contain information from the following areas:

  • Project target (most common the top node of the WBS)
  • Project phases
  • Product structure
  • Engineering process

The different information from these elements is assigned to the levels of the hierarchy. The number of levels can be freely selected; 4 levels are defined below.

LevelContent
1Product (Overall System)
2Main elements of the product as well as a summary of cross-element processing steps, such as test and validation, project management, data organization
3Sub-elements to level 3, both with regard to the product components and the overarching processing steps
4Work packages for the product elements (alternatively: further breakdown of the product structure, but the lowest level of the WBS should always contain work packages)
Ebenen der Work Breakdown Structure

In individual cases, work packages can already be settled at higher levels -- depending on the complexity of the sub-step.

Example Work Breakdown Structure

A company wants to develop a machine that automatically regrinds punching tools. So far there is no comparable product, but we already have a vague idea of ​​what this grinding machine could look like, i.e. what elements it will essentially consist of. The aim of the project is to develop a prototype and provide proof of functionality. In this case, the work breakdown structure could look like this (the image can be moved with the mouse and the zoom can be changed with the mouse wheel):

Zoom: 1
Grinding Machine 6 Workpiece fixture 7 Tool head 1 Project Management 2 Documentation 3 Control 4 Power Supply 5 Housing 8 Prototype 8.2 Manufacture 8.3 Assemble 8.4 Test 8.4.2 Realization 8.4.1 Definition 4.1 Interfaces 4.2 Engineering 4.3 Integration 5.1 Frame 5.2 Cover 2.3 Engineering Calculations 2.2 Proof of conformity 2.1 Manual 1.5 Requirements Management 1.4 Work Organization 1.4 Data Organization 1.3 Controlling 3.1 Hardware 3.2 Software 7.1 Kinematics 7.2 Design 3.1.1 Concept 3.2.2 Programming 3.2.1 Concept 1.2 Design Reviews 1.1 Process organization 7.1.1 Concept 7.2.2 Engineering Design 7.2.1 Concept 8.1 Procurement of materials 4.1.2 Engineering design 4.1.1 Concept 5.1.2 Engineering design 5.1.1 Concept 5.2.2 Engineering design 5.2.1 Concept 6.2 Engineering design 6.1 Concept 3.1.2 Engineering design 3.2.3 Test

The steps listed here are examples and of course depend on which development steps are typically implemented in a company. On the basis of a well-developed WBS, it is also possible to outsource work to external suppliers, since the interfaces are then already well defined.

Start » Howto » Projektmanagement » Work Breakdown Structures – der Projektstrukturplan

Work Breakdown Structures – der Projektstrukturplan

Dieser Artikel befasst sich mit der Anwendung von Work Breakdown Structures in maschinenbaulichen Entwicklungs- und Konstruktionsprojekten.

Vorab

Zur Begriffsklärung: die Work Breakdown Structure wird auch Projektstrukturplan (PSP) genannt. Bevor die Herangehensweise bzw. Methode zur Erstellung einer Work Breakdown Structure dargestellt wird, nachfolgend einige Punkte zur allgemeinen Einordnung.

Was ist eine Work Breakdown Structure?

Es handelt sich um eine regelbasierte hierarchische Darstellung von Projektzielen, Phasen, Produktbestandteilen und Arbeitspaketen (deren einzelne Aufgaben bzw. Handlungen in der Work Breakdown Structure nicht weiter aufgelöst werden). Eine WBS wird in Projekten als Hilfsmittel zur Strukturierung von Projektinhalten verwendet.

Wozu braucht man eine Work Breakdown Structure?

Eine Work Breakdown Structure wird immer dann benötigt, wenn ein Projekt eine Größenordnung und Komplexität annimmt, die nicht mehr einfach zu überblicken ist. Das ist z.B. der Fall, wenn viele Beteiligte an einem Projekt arbeiten und zwischen den Arbeitsergebnissen Abhängigkeiten bestehen. Die WBS übernimmt die Funktion des Projektstrukturplans (PSP) und ermöglicht dem Projektteam und Zulieferern eine objektive Sicht auf erforderliche Arbeitsschritte in einem Projekt oder Projektabschnitt.

Charakter der Work Breakdown Structure

Eine Work Breakdown Structure kann unterschiedliche Gliederungstiefen aufweisen. Dies ist von der Komplexität des jeweiligen Teilschritts abhängig. Ebenso kann es im Projektverlauf notwendig werden, eine WBS zu überarbeiten -- also erweitern, ändern oder auch reduzieren. Wenn bspw. die Produktstruktur in einem Entwicklungsprozess in den ersten Phasen des Projekts erarbeitet wird, kann sie erst später in die WBS aufgenommen und die entsprechenden Arbeitsschritte zugeordnet werden.

Ist mein Projekt zu klein für eine Work Breakdown Structure?

Die Antwort lautet: unwahrscheinlich. Es dauert nicht lange, eine WBS aufzustellen. Im Prinzip handelt es sich zu Beginn um eine Art Checkliste für die Projektplanung (und damit u.a. um ein Instrument zum Risikomanagement, hier ein Beitrag zu Risiken in Projekten), die während ihrer Erstellung in den meisten Fällen dazu führt, dass bislang nicht bedachte Arbeitsschritte erkannt und berücksichtigt werden können. Sollte dies nicht der Fall sein und das Projekt ist sehr einfach strukturiert, dann kann natürlich auf die WBS verzichtet werden.

Methode zur Erstellung

Generell kann eine Work Breakdown Structure frei gestaltet werden. Üblich sind die folgenden Ordnungskriterien, die auch miteinander kombiniert werden können:

  • Projektphasen
  • Teilaufgaben bzw. Teilprojekte
  • Arbeitsinhalte
  • Produktstruktur

Bei der Vermischung der Ordnungskriterien muss darauf geachtet werden, keine doppelten Inhalte in den Projektstrukturplan bzw. die WBS aufzunehmen. Vermeiden lässt sich das, wenn nur nach einem Kriterium geordnet wird, allerdings ist das für größere Projekte nicht sinnvoll.

In der Entwicklung und Konstruktion sollte eine WBS Informationen aus folgenden Bereichen enthalten:

  • Projektziel (als obersten Knoten)
  • Projektphasen
  • Produktstruktur
  • Entwicklungsprozess

Die unterschiedlichen Informationen aus diesen Elementen werden den Ebenen der Hierarchie zugeordnet. Die Anzahl der Ebenen kann frei gewählt werden, im Folgenden werden 4 Ebenen definiert.

EbeneInhalt
1Produkt (Gesamtsystem)
2Hauptelemente des Produkts sowie Zusammenfassung von elementübergreifenden Bearbeitungsschritten, wie z.B. Test und Validierung, Projektmanagement, Datenorganisation
3Unterelemente zu Ebene 3, sowohl hinsichtlich der Produktbestandteile als auch der übergreifenden Bearbeitungsschritte
4Arbeitspakete zu den Produktelementen (alternativ: weitere Auflösung der Produktstruktur, die unterste Ebene der WBS sollte jedoch immer Arbeitspakete enthalten)
Ebenen der Work Breakdown Structure

In einzelnen Fällen können auch bereits auf höheren Ebenen bereits Arbeitspakete angesiedelt werden -- je nach Komplexität des Teilschritts.

Beispiel für eine Work Breakdown Structure

Ein Unternehmen möchte eine Maschine entwickeln, die Stanzwerkzeuge automatisch nachschleift. Es gibt bisher noch kein vergleichbares Produkt, aber bereits eine vage Vorstellung davon, wie dieser Schleifautomat aussehen könnte, d.h. aus welchen Elementen er im Wesentlichen bestehen wird. Ziel des Projekts ist es, einen Prototypen zu entwickeln und den Funktionsnachweis zu erbringen. Die Work Breakdown Structure könnte für diesen Fall folgendermaßen aussehen (das Bild kann mit der Maus bewegt und der Zoom mit dem Mausrad verändert werden):

Zoom: 1
Schleifautomat 6 Werkstückträger 7 Werkzeugträger 1 Projektmanagement 2 Dokumentation 3 Steuerung 4 Energieversorgung 5 Gehäuse 8 Prototyp 8.2 Fertigung 8.3 Montage 8.4 Test 8.4.2 Durchführung 8.4.1 Definition 4.1 Schnittstellen 4.2 Auslegung 4.3 Integration 5.1 Gestell 5.2 Verkleidung 2.3 Auslegung 2.2 Konformitätsnachweise 2.1 Betriebsanleitung 1.5 Anforderungsmanagement 1.4 Arbeitsorganisation 1.4 Datenorganisation 1.3 Controlling 3.1 Hardware 3.2 Software 7.1 Kinematik 7.2 Struktur 3.1.1 Konzept 3.2.2 Programmierung 3.2.1 Konzept 1.2 Design Reviews 1.1 Ablauforganisation 7.1.1 Konzept 7.2.2 Entwurf und Konstruktion 7.2.1 Konzept 8.1 Materialbeschaffung 4.1.2 Entwurf und Konstruktion 4.1.1 Konzept 5.1.2 Entwurf und Konstruktion 5.1.1 Konzept 5.2.2 Entwurf und Konstruktion 5.2.1 Konzept 6.2 Entwurf und Konstruktion 6.1 Konzept 3.1.2 Entwurf und Konstruktion

Die hier aufgeführten Schritte sind exemplarisch zu sehen und hängen natürlich davon ab, welche Entwicklungsschritte in einem Unternehmen typischerweise umgesetzt werden. Auf Basis einer gut ausgearbeiteten WBS ist auch eine Auslagerung von Arbeitsinhalten an externe Lieferanten möglich (hier ein Beitrag zu Lastenheften), da die Schnittstellen dann bereits gut definiert sind.